East Africa

According to COUNTRYAAH.COM, East Africa is a region that includes 13 countries in the eastern part of the African continent and off the east coast of Africa.

BURUNDI (See Central Africa )

Area (km²): 23,000
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 472,810
Population density (per km²): 20.6
Capital: Djibouti

Area (km²): 121,320
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 4,465,651
Population density (per km²): 36.8
Capital: Asmara

Area (km²): 1,127,127
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 67,673,031
Population density (per km²): 60.0
Capital: Addis Ababa

Nation: KENYA
Area (km²): 582,650
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 31,138,735
Population density (per km²): 53.4
Capital: Nairobi

Area (km²): 637,657
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 7,753,310
Population density (per km²): 12.2
Capital: Mogadishu

Area (km²): 945,087
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 37,187,939
Population density (per km²): 39.3
Capital: Dodoma

Nation: UGANDA
Area (km²): 236,040
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 24,699,073
Population density (per km²): 104.6
Capital: Kampala

Area (km²): 587,040
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 16,473,477
Population density (per km²): 28.1
Capital: Antananarivo

Area (km²): 2040
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 1,200,206
Population density (per km²): 588.3
Capital: Port Louis

Area (km²): 455
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 80,098
Population density (per km²): 176.0
Capital: Victoria

Area (km²): 2170
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 614,382
Population density (per km²): 283.1
Capital: Moroni


Zambia (formerly Northern Rhodesia) is a country in Africa. To the north Zambia borders the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Tanzania, to the east Malawi and Mozambique, to the south Zimbabwe, Botswana and Namibia and to the west Angola.

The country takes its name from the river Zambezi, which borders the country to the south.

Zambia is a multi-ethnic community with 73 different tribes with seven main languages: bemba, kaonde, lozi, lunda, luvale, nyanja and tonga.

Up to 250,000-year-old human bones have been found in Kabwe. Farming was introduced around the birth of Christ; in the following millennium Bantu people immigrated from the north, and in the 1600s and 1700s. came other peoples from i.a. Congo and Angola.

Copper mining meant that the colony was one of the richest countries in Africa. But dependence on copper exports, difficult transport conditions and a failed policy have since made the country one of the poorest in the world.


1964 – The country becomes independent.


Eritrea is a country located in northern East Africa. The country borders Sudan to the west, Ethiopia to the south and Djibouti to the southeast. The country’s east and northeast side is the Red Sea coast, where the Dahla Islands are located. The area was formerly an Italian colony.


Ethiopia is a country in Africa. The country has four major rivers: the Blue Nile, Omo, Awash and Wabe Shebelle. The Blue Nile empties into the Mediterranean, the others either flow into lakes or dissolve into the desert sands.

From ancient times until 1941, the country was called Abyssinia, but the earliest historical name is still Ethiopia (or Ethiopia). The name Ethiopia is a paraphrase of Ethiopia ( gr. “Aith-” dark or burnt and “-ops” face). The ancient Greeks and Romans had diplomatic relations with Ethiopia.


Kenya is a country in East Africa. The border countries are Ethiopia, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda. The former British colony called British East Africa was renamed Kenya in 1919.


Somalia is an African state located on the Horn of Africa, the easternmost point of the continent. The country lies between 12 degrees north and 1 degree south latitude between 41 and 51 degrees east longitude. The country is so plagued by civil war that the state is in disarray and only exists de jure. There is no unified government or other functioning state bodies. The north-western area of Somaliland, on the other hand, has in practice functioned as an independent and relatively stable state since 1991, although it is not internationally recognized as such. The northeastern part of Puntland declared itself part of the future federation of Somalia.

Since 2006, there has been civil war in the country between the Council of Islamic Courts and warlords backed by Ethiopian troops and US economic funds. In early 2007, Islamic courts were overthrown and the capital and most of the country controlled by the caretaker government. Islamist groups, however, continue the fighting in the form of guerrilla warfare.


Tanzania is a country on the east coast of Africa. It borders Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique.

From the 1880s to 1919, the mainland was part of the German colony of German East Africa. After the German defeat in World War I, the area was handed over to Great Britain, where it remained until independence in 1961. Tanganyika and Zanzibar were united in 1964 into the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar, later renamed Tanzania.

The capital was moved from Dar es Salaam to Dodoma in 1996, but many government offices are still located in Dar es Salaam.

Republic of Uganda

The Republic of Uganda is a landlocked state in eastern Central Africa. The country is adjacent to Lake Victoria, east to Kenya, north to South Sudan. To the west there is a border with the Democratic Republic of Congo as well as Rwanda and finally Tanzania lies to the southwest.

East Africa