Political System of the Central African Republic

The Central African Republic has a single-state and presidential-democratic political system after the Constitution of 2004. The head of state, the president, is elected in the general election for five years with the possibility of one re-election. The president appoints both the prime minister and the government. Legislative authority is added to the National Assembly, elected in the general election for five years. The assembly has 106 members. The party system is fragmented and characterized by coalitions. The country has for some time been ruled by the military, and coup has been the most common method of transferring power.

Administrative Division

The country is divided into 16 prefectures, of which two are economic prefectures, and one special municipality, the capital Bangui. These units are further divided into sub-prefectures and municipalities.


The judiciary is in a detached sense characterized by French law. It includes, besides a Constitutional Court and a Military Court, a Supreme Court, a Court of Appeal, a Criminal Court and local courts. The judges are appointed by the President, the President of the National Assembly and the other judges.

Central African Republic Defense

The Central African Republic has military service after selection with 24 months of first-time service. The total strength of the Central African Republic’s armed forces is 7150 active personnel (2018, IISS ). In addition, about 1,000 personnel arrive in a semi-military gendarmerie. In 2018, the UN had about 11,000 personnel and observers (MINUSCA) in the country.


The army has a strength of about 7,000 active personnel. Material includes three tanks of a T-55, nine reconnaissance vehicles, 18 armored vehicles and 14 armored personnel.

Army in the Central African Republic

Air Force

The Air Force has a force of 150 active personnel, seven transport aircraft and one helicopter.