West Africa

West Africa is the westernmost region of Africa. According to COUNTRYAAH.COM, West Africa includes the following 16 countries:

Nation: BENIN
Area (km²): 112,620
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 6,787,625
Population density (per km²): 60.3
Capital: Porto Novo

Area (km²): 274,200
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 12,603,185
Population density (per km²): 46.0
Capital: Ouagadougou

Area (km²): 322,460
Population (estimated July 1, 2002): 16,804,784
Population density (per. Km²): 52.1
Capital: Abidjan, Yamoussoukro

Nation: GAMBIA
Area (km²): 11,300
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 1,455,842
Population density (per km²): 128.8
Capital: Banjul

Nation: GHANA
Area (km²): 239,460
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 20,244,154
Population density (per km²): 84.5
Capital: Accra

Nation: GUINEA
Area (km²): 245,857
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 7,775,065
Population density (per km²): 31.6
Capital: Conakry

Area (km²): 36,120
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 1,345,479
Population density (per km²): 37.3
Capital: Bissau

Area (km²): 4033
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 408,760
Population density (per km²): 101.4
Capital: Praia

Area (km²): 111,370
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 3,288,198
Population density (per km²): 29.5
Capital: Monrovia

Nation: MALI
Area (km²): 1,240,000
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 11,340,480
Population density (per km²): 9.1
Capital: Bamako

Area (km²): 1,030,700
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 2,828,858 Density
(per km²): 2.7
Capital: Nouakchott

Nation: NIGER
Area (km²): 1,267,000
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 10,639,744
Population density (per km²): 8.4
Capital: Niamey

Area (km²): 923,768
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 129,934,911
Population density (per km²): 140.7
Capital: Abuja

Area (km²): 196,190
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 10,589,571
Population density (per km²): 54.0
Capital: Dakar

Area (km²): 71,740
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 5,614,743
Population density (per km²): 78.3
Capital: Freetown

Nation: TOGO
Area (km²): 56,785
Population (estimated 1 July 2002): 5,285,501
Population density (per km²): 93.1
Capital: Lomé


Burkina Faso is a state in West Africa. The country has no coastline and borders Mali to the north, Niger to the east, Benin to the southeast, Togo and Ghana to the south and Côte d’Ivoire to the southwest.

The country’s name was until 4 August 1984 Upper Volta. The name is due to the fact that the Volta rivers run through the country. Le Mouhoun (Black Volta), le Nakambé (White Volta) and le Nazinon (Red Volta). Le Mouhoun and la Comoé, which flow to the southwest, are the only rivers in the country that run all year round.

The country is just over 6 times as large as Denmark (274,000 km²) with a population of just over 13 million. The capital, which is also the country’s largest city, is called Ouagadougou, and it has a population of about 1 million residents.


1890s – The area was colonized by France when they defeated the Mossi people. Thereafter, it was initially administered as part of the Ivory Coast, until in 1919 it was separated as a separate colony. This status was later abolished, but in 1947 it again became a separate colony, and at this time under the name Upper Volta.

1958-1960 – The country became autonomous in 1958 and completely independent in 1960.

1987 – January 31. When Burkina Faso gained independence in 1960, there are very few Danes in the country. The Burkins are a friendly and pleasant people and it is easy to both work and travel in Burkina Faso, so the country experienced a relatively large media coverage compared to other African countries of similar political and economic importance. It was due to Thyge Christensen that a friendship association between Denmark and Burkina Faso was formed. Read more here.


The Gambia is a republic in West Africa. With 10,689 square kilometers, the country is the smallest on the African mainland, and it has approximately 1.7 million residents. Gambia is geographically almost completely bordered by the country of Senegal. The country’s capital is called Banjul and in 2003 had 34,828 residents. The low population in the capital is due to the fact that this is located on a very small island, which, however, is connected to the mainland via bridges. Hundreds of thousands live on the mainland near the capital.

Gambia has varied wildlife adapted to e.g. savannah, river and trees – former animal species include tigers, buffaloes, elephants and giraffes.

Close to the north bank is the village of Juffure known from the novel “Roots – a black family saga” written by Alex Haley in 1977.


300 BC-1500 EVT – The Late Gambian stone circles are a collection of prehistoric burial grounds established between the years 300 BC. and the 16th century. There are about 1,000 such stone circles, each consisting of from 10 to 24 stones, within a 100 km wide area along 350 km of the Gambia River, a total area of ​​39,000 km². The stone circles are found both in Gambia and in Senegal.

1783 – The British administered Gambia from Sierra Leone, except for the period 1843-1866, and the slave trade was banned by Britain in 1807.

1894 – Gambia becomes an independent British protectorate.

1965 – Gambia is a British colony until the country becomes independent.

1970 – Gambia becomes a republic – but still part of the Commonwealth of Nations.

1980s – Gambia has a good relationship with Senegal, which resulted in Senegal averting a coup attempt in 1981 and the two countries joining the Confederation of Senegambia in 1982. However, this was dissolved in 1989 due to disagreement, and instead a friendship and cooperation agreement was entered into in 1991.

1994 – July. A group of younger officers led by Yahya Jammeh succeeded in overthrowing Dawda Jawara in a bloodless coup, while the constitution and political parties were abolished and Jammeh became president.

2000s – Jammeh was re-elected in 2001 and 2006 – the latter year was also the year of a refugee influx of thousands of Senegalese to Gambia due to armed fighting between the Senegalese military and Senegalese rebels in Casamance province.

2011 – Jammeh is re-elected, but has been accused of electoral fraud and repression by the media and political opposition.

West Africa